Together, we can build a fair future for all: DONATE TODAY!
Ensemble, nous pouvons bâtir un avenir juste pour tout le monde : DONNEZ AUJOURD’HUI!
Skip to main content

Meet our Board

Meet the members of our Board of Directors who support us in our mission to build safe and inclusive communities.

A Word from the President

“I feel privileged to part the Board of Directors.  It assembles amazing talents from different fields and part of the country and is a vital part of Equitas’ success.  

André Beaulieu, Senior Vice President, Corporate Services, Bell Canada

Executive Committee


André Beaulieu, President
Senior Vice President, Corporate Services
Bell Canada

Erin Aylward

Erin Aylward
Gender and LGBTI Rights Researcher and Practitioner
University of Toronto

Inez Jabalpurwala

Inez Jabalpurwala, Secretary
Global Director VINEx – Viral Neuro Exploration and Founding CEO
Brain Canada

Marc Girard

Marc Girard, Treasurer
Management Consultant



Alison Breen
Managing Director, Divisional General Counsel and Corporate Secretary
PSP Investments


April Ingham
International Grants Specialist
Lush Cosmetics North America

Bushra Ebadi

Bushra Ebadi
Young Ambassador and Executive Member of the Canadian Commission


Daniel Tran
Economic Development Advisor, Cabinet of the Mayor and the Executive Committee
City of Montreal

Darryl Yates (2)

Darryl Yates
Executive Director, Brain & Mental Health Services
SickKids Hospital


Drew Wawin
Vice President, Montreal-Est district
TD Bank Group

Jillian Stirk

Jillian Stirk
Former Ambassador and Assistant Deputy Minister
Global Affairs Canada

Karine Joizil 2

Karine Joizil
McCarthy Trétault

Krista Pawley

Krista Pawley
Culture and Reputation Architect
Imperative Impact


Lisa Schmidt
Leadership Coach
Worksphere Consulting


Nikki Gladstone
RightsCon Director
Access Now

Remzi Cej

Remzi Cej
Assistant Director, Immigration, Refugees and Citizenship Canada
Government of Canada

Yalden-Full Resolution Photo

Robert Yalden
Professor in Corporate Law and Finance, Faculty of Law
Queen’s University

Honorary Board

François Crépeau
Hans & Tamar Oppenheimer Professor in Public International Law, Faculty of Law, McGill University and United Nations Special Rapporteur on the Human Rights of Migrants

Margaret Sekaggya
Former United Nations Special Rapporteur on the situation of human rights defenders and Executive Director of the Human Rights Centre Uganda

Pearl Eliadis
Human Rights Lawyer

Phil Fontaine
Former National Chief of the Assembly of First Nations

Stephen Toope
Director, Munk School of Global Affairs, University of Toronto

The Honourable Irwin Cotler

The Honourable Frank Iacobucci
Former Justice of the Supreme Court of Canada and Counsel, Torys

William Schabas
Professor of International Law, Middlesex University

Programs Committee

Erin Aylward, Chair
PhD Candidate, Political Science, University of Toronto

Isabelle Gilles
Lawyer, LKL International – Consulting on Human Rights

Karine Joizil
Partner, McCarthy Tétrault

Marc Girard
Management Consultant

Natasha Blanchet-Cohen
Associate Professor, Department of Applied Human Sciences, Concordia University

Rex Fyles
Associate, Gender at Work

Sizwe Inkingi 
Project Coordinator for the Positive Spaces Initiatives, Ontario Council of Agencies Serving Immigrants

Tara Collins
Associate Professor, Faculty of Community Services, School of Child and Youth Care, Ryerson University
Honorary Associate Professor, Children’s Institute, University of Cape Town, South Africa 

Communications and Fund Development Committee

André Beaulieu, Chair
Senior Vice President, Corporate Services – Bell Canada

Drew Wawin
Vice President, Montreal-Est district, TD Bank Group

Krista Pawley
Culture and Reputation Architect, Imperative Impact

Ron Wigdor
Marketing and Communications Executive, Futurpreneur Canada

Thomas Ledwell
Strategy and Governance Consultant

Daniel Tran 
Economic development policy advisor, City of Montreal

Audrey Paquet
Regional manager, HealthPartner

Nikki Gladstone
RightsCon Director, Access Now

Lisa Schmidt
Leadership Coach, Worksphere Consulting

Finance Committee

Marc Girard, Treasurer
Management Consultant

Robert Yalden
Professor in Corporate Law and Finance, Faculty of Law, Queen’s University